UPSC Civil Services Main Exam 2018: DAF released at, steps to fill the form

UPSC Civil Services Main Exam 2018: DAF released at, steps to fill the form

The Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) has released the Detailed Application Form (DAF) for the Civil Services (Main) Examination 2018 on the official website, the link for which is

Those who have successfully cleared the UPSC Civil Services preliminary examination need to fill the DAF latest by August 6.

As per the UPSC schedule, the main examination for Civil Service will begin from September 28.

Here's what the official notification read:

"The qualified candidate seeking admission to the Civil Services (Main) Examination must apply online through the Commission's website ( by filling the Detailed Application Form (DAF) and uploading the scanned copies of the required document within the prescribed time limit so that DAF is submitted by the applicant on time."

However, the OBC (non-creamy layer) candidates will be required to fill the OBC Annexure along with the Detailed Application Form, online," the official notification read.


Steps to fill the UPSC Civil Services Main Exam 2018 DAF form:

  • Log on to the official website
  • Under 'what's new', click on 'Civil Services (Main) Examination, 2018'
  • PDF file will open, containing instructions as well as DAF form
  • Follow the instructions and fill in the same.

Note: The last date for filling up the DAF form is September 20 till 6 pm.


Application fee:

General/OBC category: Rs 200

Meanwhile, Female, SC, ST and PwBD candidates are exempted from paying fee.

All the candidates paying application fee by cash mode will have to pay the fee by August 5, 2018 while the last date to pay application fee in online mode through Debit/Credit card or internet banking is August 6, 2018.


About UPSC

The UPSC conducts civil services exams annually in three stages: preliminary, main and interview, to select candidates to fill administrative positions in different all-India services and central civil services including IAS, IPS, IFS, IRS among others.

sources : India Today